Youtube Facebook Twitter Wordpress





Spotlight Awards™

Since 1999, the Spotlight Awards™ have brought together the BC Film community to celebrate the outstanding achievements of BC women in screen-based media. 

The Spotlight Awards Ceremony will take place on June 19, 2018 at Performance Works on Granville Island.

Nominations are closed

Nominations for the 2018 awards will be accepted until Monday, March 26, 2018.

Eligibility: To be eligible, nominees must have been BC residents for at least a year as of Monday, March 26, 2018. Please note that nominated individuals must be aware of and consent to their nomination. Nominations are kept on file and eligible for three years. 

Nomination process: Please provide your contact information as well as that of the person you are nominating by completing this form. Then follow these three instructions:

1. Please prepare a single PDF document containing the following information: 

  • your name and the name of the person you are nominating
  • a 1-3 page detailed explanation of why you are nominating the nominee and how they play a part in the advancement of women in the film and television industry in BC and beyond
  • support material - for example: links to the nominee’s work, website, reviews of their work, articles/media about them, etc.
  • Please ensure that your explanation provides the jurors with a real sense of who your nominee is. The more information, the better!

2. Please title your document Spotlight Nomination for (and include the name of the person you are nominating).

3. Please email your single PDF document to by 5pm PST, March 26, 2018


Sponsor an award

To sponsor an award, please contact office (at) for more information. 

2018 award categories

  • The Woman of the Year Award is presented to an industry leader who has achieved significant success and who has created opportunities for other women in the industry. Winners include Anita Adams, Liz Shorten, Rachel Talalay, Patricia Gruben, Shauna Hardy Mishaw, Tracey Friesen, Carol Whiteman, and Lynn Booth.
  • The Impact Award is presented for a career, or singular body of work, that creates a significant impact through breaking boundaries, investigating historical experiences, and; or challenging perceptions. Present for the first time in 2018 to Marie Clements. 
  • The Please Adjust Your Set Award honours a person or organization that has made a major contribution to promote gender equality in film, television or screen-based media.
  • The Artistic Achievement Award honours a screen-based media artist (i.e. writer, director, producer, editor, director of photography or performer) who has created an outstanding recent work or a significant body of work. Winners include Camille Sullivan, Tara Armstrong, Mina Shum, Madeleine Grant, Nimisha Mukerji, Lara Mazur, Penelope Buitenhuis, and Katrin Bowen.
  • The Innovation Award honours a key creator of a recent production or body of work that exemplifies vision, experimentation and innovation. Winners include Loretta Todd, Maja Aro, Gigi Saul Guerrero, Pauline Heaton, Jenn and Sylvia Soska, Karen Lam, Jill Sharpe, and Dana Claxton.
  • The Wayne Black Service Award honours a major contributor to the screen-based media community while working ‘behind the scenes’. Named in memory of Wayne Black, a lab manager, who gave tirelessly of his time and talent. Winners include Nadia DiMofte, Meg Thornton, Christine Larsen, Maureen Webb, Michelle Mason, Robyn Wiener, Barbara Lee, and Dusty Kelly.
  • The Honoured Friend Award recognizes a person who has played a significant role in supporting women in the industry and promoting the goals of WIFTV. Men are eligible to be nominated for this award. Winners include Arielle Boisvert, Paul Armstrong, Walter Daroshin, Don Thompson, Ed Brando, Bill Hurst, Malcolm Parry, and Alexandra Raffe.
  • The Sharon Gibbon Award honours a WIFTV member who has made a major volunteer contribution in advancing the organization’s goals. In memory of Sharon Gibbon, a deeply committed board member whose career was cut too short. Winners include Amanda Burke, Lucia Cheung, Emily Yakashiro, Elizabeth Yake, Tracey Mack, Roslyn Muir, Wendy D, and Debra Sears.
  • The Image Award is awarded to a director, writer, editor or director of photography of an outstanding short work that shows production excellence or a unique, visionary approach. Winners include Jody Wilson, Shauna Johannesen, Kailey and Sam Spears, Michelle Brezinski, Jennifer Campbell, Elle-MaijaTailfeathers, Jenn Strom, and Banchi Hanuse.
  • The Leadership in Education Award is presented to a screen industry teacher who has demonstrated a commitment to creating opportunities for and sharing expertise with women students within an academic or professional development context. Winners include Angie Nolan, Karin Lee, Katherine Montagu, Ingrid Torrance, Lori Triolo, Michèle Lonsdale Smith and Doreen Manuel.
  • The Iris Award is given to a person who has demonstrated a commitment to the promotion of women creators and their screen-based works either through curating or programming or through print and online media sources. Named after the Greek mythological figure Iris, associated with communication, messages, the rainbow and new endeavours, Men are eligible to be nominated for this award.
  • The Newcomer Award recognizes a new artist or technician, including one who is shifting from one career to another (i.e. from an actor to a director) whose first few works have laid the foundation for an inspiring new career.

Read about past award winners here: