Every year the Vancouver International Women In Film Festival presents awards for achievement in a variety of categories. 

At the Closing Night Award Ceremony on March 12th, the Best of the Festival awards were presented, along with the awards for the winner of the VIWIFF International Screenplay Competition, the winners of the From Our Dark Side Genre Concept Contest, and the screening of the Matrix Award winning short films.  

All awards were chosen by an independent jury of industry professionals.  

Short film jury: Peg Campbell (filmmaker and teacher at Emily Carr), Peggy Thompson (screenwriter, producer and Professor Emerita of UBC’s Creative Writing Program) and Ana Carrizales (performer and media creator).

Feature film jury: Cari Green (documentary filmmaker and teacher at Langara and Emily Carr), Shannon Walsh (filmmaker and theorist based at the Department of Theatre and Film, UBC), Rachelle Chartrand (screenwriter, script consultant and past president of Women in Film and Television Vancouver). 


 IATSE 891 Award for Best Feature


Lutine, directed by Isabelle Broué


UBCP-1UBCP ACTRA Award for Best Performance 


Elle-Maija Tailfeathers for her performance in On the Farm


 Casting Workbook Award for Best Performance in a Short 


Jenny Schily for her performance in Aftermath


Sim-Master-4C_png.png  Sim Digital Award for Best Cinematography


Cornelius Plache, Luciano Cervio, Maximilian Preiss for their cinematography in Anishoara 


ICG_Colour.png ICG 669 Award for Best Cinematography in a Short


Monika Plura for her cinematography in On The Beach 


 Pacific Backlot Award for Best Screenplay


Lutine, written by Isabelle Broué


 Canadian Cinema Editors Award for Best Editing


Maximilian Raible for his editing of Where to, Miss?


Side Street Post Award for Best Editing in a Short



Tie between Aube Foglia for of An Uncertain Spring, and Carmela Iandoli of The Wake


 DGC BC Award for Best Direction


Narges Abyar for Breath


 Finale Award for Best Short


Sisters by Natasha Merkulova


24 Frames Award for Best Documentary


A Revolution in Four Seasons by Jessie Deeter


Ken Hayward Award for Best Screenplay from the VIWIFF International Screenplay Competition

Lily Mercer for My Old Man