Shauna Hardy Mishaw
(Founder and Executive Director, Whistler Film Festival)

This award is presented to a woman who has achieved a significant success in the field of film or television, and who is recognized for mentoring other women in the industry.

Shauna Hardy Mishaw is the Executive Director and Founder of the Whistler Film Festival Society. Since its inception in 2001, she has been instrumental in the Whistler Film Festival (WFF) becoming one of Canada’s leading film festivals, and establishing its leadership role in facilitating project development programs and opportunities for Canadian filmmakers. Renowned by filmmakers and film lovers alike, WFF is a place where artists are celebrated, audiences are inspired, and new ideas enter the cultural dialogue.

Shauna has over 25 years experience in sales, marketing communications and event production, and has worked on some of BC’s highest profile events. She is the Executive Producer of 22 short films commissioned as part of the Whistler Stories legacy project from 2005 to 2010.

Shauna was named the 2008 Whistler Chamber of Commerce Business Person of the Year, and received the 2009 Wayne Black Service Award from Women in Film & Video Vancouver for her role in supporting BC’s entertainment industry. She served on the Whistler Arts Council Board from 2003 to 2009 and the Whistler Chamber of Commerce Board from 2009 to 2011. 





Nimisha Mukerji
(Director, 65_RedRoses, Blood Relative, Tempest Storm: Burlesque Queen)

This award honours a woman who demonstrates filmmaking excellence.

Never afraid to get real, Nimisha's documentaries are known for merging art, information, and advocacy to craft moving glimpses into social issues from around the world. The New York Times has hailed her films as "illuminating and uplifting" and her work has received international acclaim and recognition from festivals and broadcasters. While much of her work is in non-fiction, Nimisha continues to produce award-winning fiction work as well, and has been celebrated in both mediums.

25th Finale



Jenn and Sylvia Soska
(Directors, Dead Hooker in a Trunk, American Mary, See No Evil 2)

The Artistic Innovation Award honours women who demonstrate vision, experimentation and innovation and who have created a significant body of work in these forms or an outstanding new work.

The Soska Twins break half the established rules of screenwriting and somehow get away with it, and their direction is assured and clever throughout. More importantly, they show a sense of cultural awareness that most of their white male peers don’t seem to know even exists. This allows them to step into dangerous territory with a maturity, insight and humanity rarely seen in this genre anymore.

Peter Allen

Michelle Mason


Michelle Mason 
(Director, The Friendship Village, Breaking Ranks, A Song for Carlos; Coordinator of the Documentary Program at Capilano University)

The Wayne Black Service Award honours a woman with a ‘behind-the-scenes’ role and for her continued efforts within the film and television community. This award is named in memory of Wayne Black of Alpha Cine who gave tirelessly of his time and talent to help filmmakers.

Michelle Mason is an award-winning documentary filmmaker and a film instructor at Capilano University. Interested in stories of human transcendence, Michelle’s longer works have explored themes of reconciliation between former combatants from the Vietnam War (The Friendship Village) and conscientious objection in the U.S. military (Breaking Ranks). She is currently enjoying motherhood, mentoring inspiring young filmmakers, and creating her first feature documentary, A Song For Carlos, about her grandfather’s experiences as a propaganda poster painter in the Spanish Civil War.




Ed Brando 
(Manager of Client Services at William F. White International, Producer, Director)

The Honorary Friend Award recognizes a person who has played a significant role in supporting women in the industry as well as promoting the success of the organization. Men are eligible for this award.

Having just celebrated his 5th year at William F White International Inc as the Manager of Client Services and with more than 19 years of experience in the film industry, Ed has extensive knowledge of Grip and Lighting equipment, as well as all aspects of the production process. He has produced 9 independent feature films (Insecticidal, Alien Incursion, Taming Tammy, and Kingdoms of Grace) to name but a few and he directed/produced countless short films, music videos and web commercials.
 Ed has also worked on set in the positions of Generator Operator, Gaffer, Key Grip and Dolly Grip!

Ed is especially proud of the "Hot Shot Shorts" film competition (In its 7th year), which he created with the assistance of some of Vancouver's most influential independent filmmakers.





Tracey Mack
(Producer, The Adventures of Little Jake and Many Skies, Edgar & Ellen; Vancouver Film School faculty and former WIFTV Board Member)

The Sharon Gibbon Lifetime Member Award honours a member in recognition of her volunteer work with WIFTV advancing the organization’s goals. The award is named in memory of Sharon Gibbon, who exemplified these qualities in a career cut short too soon.

Tracey Mack is an Independent Producer focusing on productions for children, youth and families, with over fifteen years of experience as a Producer, Line Producer and Production & Business Affairs consultant for both live action, animation and digital media productions.   She is also involved in media education, conducting workshops and teaching at Vancouver Film School.  Tracey served on the board of Women in Film & Television from 2007 to 2011, where she became a member of the Executive, as Treasurer.





Jennifer Campbell
(Filmmaker, Hike, Bruised)

The Image Award is awarded to a female director or DOP for a recent short work that shows excellence in overall production value or a unique, visionary approach to the cinematography or storytelling.

In 2012-2013 Jennifer wrote, produced and directed her second short film Bruised. Bruised tells the story of a self-employed house cleaner who descends into the darkness of chronic pain. Bruised was awarded Best Horror Short and Short Film Director at the 2013 PollyGrind Underground Film Festival (LV) and Best Actress for Briana Rayner at the 2014 Macabre Faire Film Festival (NY).




Lori Triolo
(Actor, Director and Coach - The Craft of Acting)

The Leadership in Education Award recognizes Vision And Excellence in the Teaching of Screen Based Media and for creating opportunities for and providing mentorship to women students.

Lori has been a community leader and mentor since arriving in Vancouver from NYC over 20 years ago. She's owned & operated 2 successful black box theatres as well as produced The Cold Reading Series all geared toward supporting the local film, music and theatre communities by offering possibilities to create and present independent artists work. She is a critically acclaimed screen and stage actress as well as master teacher of The Meisner Technique and Certified Associate Teacher of Fitzmaurice Voicework® working with actors, singers, teachers, scientists, CEO's, etc. in Canada and the US.






CUES – Canadian Unions for Equality on Screen.  

This award honours a person or organization that has made a major contribution to promote gender equality in film, television or screen based media.

CUES is an alliance of film and television industry unions and guilds in partnership with academics and other industry organizations, striving to achieve gender equality.  CUES' 2013 nation-wide study FOCUS ON WOMEN, authored by Dr. Amanda Coles, offered a comprehensive gender-based analysis of Canada's screen industry workforce and showed there still is a serious gender gap in the industry.