The 2022 Vancouver International Women in Film Festival Screenplay Competition 

The Vancouver International Women in Film Festival Screenplay Competition champions English-language feature screenplays written by women and gender diverse people. The festival offers practicing screenwriters a forum for collaboration and networking.

The VIWFF Screenplay Competition is organized by Women in Film and Television Vancouver.

Special thanks to the volunteer readers, jurors and VIWFF Screenplay Competition Coordinator, Joan Macbeth, and to the International Screenwriters Association – ISA – for their sponsorship.

Congratulations to the Grand Prize Winners: Sandra Fox-Sohner and Maria Sigrist for their screenplay THE PROFESSOR, award generously sponsored by LintBucket Media.


Alyssa Biller – Under the Influence – TV Pilot (Canada)
Ashley Brown/Jordan Phillips – Waterloo Woman – TV Pilot (USA)
Mugs Cahill – Nantucket  – TV Pilot (USA)
Nicole Donadio – D.B. – TV Pilot – (USA)
Sandra Fox-Sohner/Maria Sigrist The Professor – Feature (USA)
Tita Magdeline Kyrtsakas – Bad – TV Pilot (Canada)
Dee Raffo –  Mountain Callout  – TV Pilot (Canada)
Mary Robbins – Womankind – TV Pilot (USA)
Emily Schoen – Call Me Friend – Feature (Canada)
Bridget Visser – Mad Nellie – TV Pilot (USA)


Shannon Amborn – Garment
Zoe Davidson – Teenage Cult Leader
Karin delaPena Collison – Coming of Age: The Feature
Sadie Fearon – A Nasty Habit
Diana Frances – Given Up
Courtney Froemming – Recitation
Lara Janze – Little Resilience
Kelly Jean Karam – My Kid Soldier
Laura Kemp – Burn Pattern
Amanda McEwan – Mickey
Rebekah Mueller – Moonrise
Anna Parsons – Temperance
Kerrin Rafuse – Facing the Heavy
Shannon Rody – Lesse is Moore
Loretta Seto – Kung Fu Zombies
Shannon Silva/Tiffany Albright – The Party
Jenny Stark – Weirdly Normal
Helene Taylor – The Grifter Sisters
Tammy Tsang – Yours in Guiding
Catherine Wright – The Place We Stand Together


Leanne Averbach – Loyalties
Alessandra Bautze – Racing the Wolf God
Stephanie Brandolini – Astral Witch
Eliza Crosland – Grand Finale
Stacy Dymalski – A Bit Much
Kyra Fequet – Unapologetic
Anna Forsyth – Dropping The Gloves
Zenna Goth – Pots and Pans
Meghna Haldar – Fearless Nadia!
Gwendolyn Hulet – The Willows
Kelly Jean Karam – Caroline Buxton’s Lipstick Posse
Sarah Kelley – Dream Walker
Alyssa Kostello/Tracy Varju – Detect Her
Stephanie Law – Duck Duck Chef
Tishia Malone – Attachment In
Grace Marcellus – Kosher Nostra
Toby Marks – The Girl With the Devil Eyes
Helen Marsh – The Greatest Height
Marie S.A. Pearl – A Chai Tea Wedding
Kaitlyn Price – Your Happiness Is Enough
Pam Price – Crush
Alana Saab – Jaanem (My Love)
Laura Stubbs – No
Sally Claire Stubbs – Centurions
Jes Sugrue – Wayward
Melissa Tantaquidgeon Zobel – Flying Bird’s Diary
Shelley Thompson – See Jane
Ivy Vale – Out of My Comfort Zone
Mary Walsh – Come Home Year
Sally Webster – Like No One Is Watching
Jana Williams – River of No Return
Nina Winther – Aurora Borealis


With thanks to VIWFF Screenplay Competition sponsor: