2018 International Screenplay Competition

2018 marks the fourth year for the VIWIFF International Screenplay Competition. The competition is committed to highlighting the best stories the world has to offer that are written by women.

This year we welcomed submissions from female screenwriters across Canada and the U.S.A., Japan, Australia, Brazil, United Arab Emirates, Tajikistan, Hong Kong, France, Austria and the U.K.

Special thanks to our volunteer readers, jurors and VIWIFF Screenplay Competition Coordinator, Joan Macbeth.

The finalist was presented with a cash prize at the Festival Awards Ceremony on March 11, 2018.

Congratulations to Jill Taylor (I Need A Hero) – this year's winner of the Ken Hayward Award for Best Screenplay from the VIWIFF International Screenplay Competition!

Congratulations to the top ten Official Selections for the 2018 Vancouver International Women In Film Festival Screenplay Competition. 

Sophie Naima Caird - When He Gets to Her

Sheri Davenport - Sins of the Father

Ellie Foumbi - Zenith

Marquette Jones - After the Jump

Bonnie Maffei - Becoming Picasso

Jocelyn Osier - If I Could I Would

Lina Roessler - The Rescuer

Jes Sugrue - A Homemade Christmas

Jill Taylor - I Need A Hero

Shannon Walsh - Unidentified Minor

All official Selections received a festival pass and were invited to attend VIWIFF 2018.